206 SorSU SSC Faculty Organization – Sorsogon Chapter, Inc. (SSCFO-SCI) members convene for Employees’ Welfare Seminar, Annual General Assembly

206 SorSU SSC Faculty Organization – Sorsogon Chapter, Inc. (SSCFO-SCI) members convene for Employees’ Welfare Seminar, Annual General Assembly — elect a new set of SSCFO-SCI Officers (2024-2026)

Participated by a total of 206 faculty members, 156 regular and 50 associates, Sorsogon State University SSC Faculty Organization – Sorsogon Chapter, Inc. (SSCFO-SCI), led by Prof. Saturnino C. Carranza (Outgoing President, SSCFO-SCI), organized Employees’ Welfare Seminar, 2024 Annual General Assembly, as well as Election of New Set of Officers (2024-2026) on February 23, 2024, at SorSU Audio-Visual Hall, Sorsogon City Campus.

The event formally commenced with a welcome message from Dr. Catherine A. De Castro (Vice President, SSCFO-SCI), emphasizing that the agenda for the 2024 Annual General Assembly is designed to provide vital updates on faculty-related programs, including those offered by GSIS, Pag-IBIG Fund, and PhilHealth, alongside information on tax updates. Let us take this opportunity to stay informed, engaged, and empowered.

“Today, we unite not merely as individuals but as a group dedicated to advancing knowledge and fostering the growth of our academic community… As the outgoing Vice President of the faculty organization, I extend my heartfelt gratitude for your trust and support to me and to all the officers throughout our tenure.”

“As we engage in fruitful discussions and deliberations later, let us remain mindful of our shared purpose and core values of humility, excellence, accountability, resilience, and trustworthiness. Thank you and may we all have a productive and rewarding General Assembly.”
Similarly, Dr. Telesforo D. Escoto (Campus Director, SorSU-Sorsogon City Campus), in his message, acknowledged the hard work, dedication, and service of the SSCFO-SCI Officers (2022-2024), headed by Outgoing President Prof. Carranza.

Following the welcome remarks and message of Dr. Castro and Dr. Escoto, respectively, the faculty organization’s members engaged in the Empoyees’ Welfare Seminar, where GSIS Sorsogon Personnel tackled the topic of “Enhanced Personnel Accident Insurance, other Insurance Programs offered by GSIS and other updates of GSIS.” Subsequently, Mr. Warren Nelson D. Acuna (MSO III, Pag-IBIG Fund – Sorsogon) led the discussion on Pag-IBIG Fund Updates and Special Programs. In addition, the seminar also featured a talk session on “PhilHealth Updates, Benefits, and Other Concerns” by Ms. Marianne Joseph R. Garcia (Social Insurance Officer, Information Officer, & Local Health Insurance Officer, PhilHealth – Sorsogon). Prof. Saturnino C. Carranza (Outgoing President, SSCFO-SCI) delivered the closing remarks for the morning activity.

Meanwhile, the afternoon session highlighted the 2024 General Assembly Proper, which consisted of the reading and approval of the minutes of the previous general assembly by Dr. Maryjean N. Gamba (Secretary, SSCFO-SCI), while Prof. Carranza (SorSUFO-SCI President) discussed the President’s Report, particularly the SSCFO-SCI Plans 2022-2024 and the organization’s significant accomplishments for the past two years, such as its various pandemic response initiatives, project laptop (learning assistance project through the purchase of laptops for faculty to support online instruction amid pandemic), project internet loan, assistance to communities, mutual fund aid to members, free training of faculty members on Basic Occupational Safety and Health for Safety Officer 1, & Employees’ Center). Moreover, Prof. Ma. Claire M. Dicen (Auditor, SorSUFO-SCI) presented the Treasurer’s Report. Afterward, prior to the election proper, an open forum transpired addressing the issues and concerns raised by the members.

Facilitated by the COMELEC, a total of 121 regular faculty employees cast their votes during the SSCFO-SCI election of officers for 2024-2026. The new set of SSCFO-SCI Officers for the Term 2024-2026 is as follows, to wit:
President: Dr. Perry F. Carpio
Vice President: Prof. Ramil D. Evangelista
Secretary: Dr. Maryjean N. Gamba
Treasurer: Ms. Ritzi Castro-Fullente
Auditor: Arch. Garner Ted O. Olavere
Business Manager: Ms. Lizel D. Lerios
PIO: Ms. Mary Rose B. Lacdang