Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus participates in the 1st Bicolano Farmers Festival & Agri-Summit

SorSU President Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus took an active role in the 1st Bicolano Farmers Festival & Agri-Summit held on May 13, 2024 at the Central Bicol State University of Agriculture (CBSUA). With the overarching theme of “Sustaining Legacies, Cultivating Futures: Celebrating Bicolano Farmers and Agri-Innovations,” the event kicked off with a welcome address delivered by Dr. Alberto N. Naperi (CBSUA, SUC President IV). Following this, Dir. Rodel Tornilla (Director, Department of Agriculture V), Dir. Herbie B. Aguas (Regional Director, Department of Tourism V) and Dr. Dexter Respicio Buted (National Administrator, Philippine Coconut Authority) delivered inspiring messages, underscoring the importance of agricultural innovation in the Bicol region.

The program proceeded with the recognition of esteemed guests through the Awarding of Plaques and Tokens, acknowledging their significant contributions to the agricultural sector. An important highlight of the event was the Awarding of Accreditation to CBSUA Agriville and Learning Hub as a Learning Site by DA-ATI and as an Agri-Tourism Destination by Department of Tourism.

Hon. Tomas P. Bongalonta Jr. (Municipal Mayor of Pili) delivered the closing remarks, emphasizing the impact of collective efforts in driving agricultural progress. Following this, attendees embarked on a tour of the CBSUA Agriville and Learning Hub Farm.

The day culminated with a symbolic gesture of commitment through the signing of the Pledge of Commitment and Ribbon Cutting Ceremony. It was attended by distinguished members of the CBSUA Admin Council, LGU Pili Officials, Regional Directors and PASUC Presidents including Sorsogon State University President Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus.

Dr. Ryan V. Dio (Vice President for Research, Extension and Training), Prof. Andrew F. Detera (Campus Director, Castilla Campus) and Engr. Dennis M. Mujar (Head, Global Quality Awards) also attended the said event. (SorSU PIO)