SorSU collectively prepares for AACCUP Online Accreditation on 7 programs

In pursuit and commitment toward excellence and steadfast improvement of Universityโ€™s programs and services, Sorsogon State University (SorSU) is currently undergoing a five-day Online Program Accreditation for its seven (7) programs under Sorsogon City Campus, Graduate School, and Magallanes Campus by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP) from October 9-13, 2023, which commenced today through a hybrid mode at the SorSU Board Room (for in-person) and online via Zoom Meeting.

Seven program offerings in total are presently under evaluation by the AACCUP accreditors. These programs involve two (2) offerings from SorSU-Sorsogon City Campus (BS in Hospitality Management and BS in Tourism Management); four (4) from SorSU-Graduate School (Doctor of Education – Major in Educational Leadership & Management, Doctor of Philosophy – Major in Filipino, Doctor in Public Administration, Master of Arts in Education – Major in Science); and one (1) program from SorSU-Magallanes Campus (Bachelor of Elementary Education).

The five-day online accreditation event formally commenced with welcome remarks from SUC President III, Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus. Following the Presidentโ€™s message was the ๐˜—๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ฆ๐˜ฏ๐˜ต๐˜ข๐˜ต๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜œ๐˜ฏ๐˜ช๐˜ท๐˜ฆ๐˜ณ๐˜ด๐˜ช๐˜ต๐˜บ ๐˜’๐˜ฆ๐˜บ ๐˜–๐˜ง๐˜ง๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ช๐˜ข๐˜ญ๐˜ด & ๐˜œ๐˜ฏ๐˜ช๐˜ต ๐˜๐˜ฆ๐˜ข๐˜ฅ๐˜ด by Dr. Leny D. Berdin (Chief Administrative Officer V). Moreover, the ๐˜—๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ฆ๐˜ฏ๐˜ต๐˜ข๐˜ต๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜Š๐˜ข๐˜ฎ๐˜ฑ๐˜ถ๐˜ด ๐˜–๐˜ง๐˜ง๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ช๐˜ข๐˜ญ๐˜ด & ๐˜›๐˜ข๐˜ด๐˜ฌ ๐˜๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ค๐˜ฆ was delivered by Dr. Jhonner D. Ricafort (Vice President for Academic Affairs), Dr. Ryan V. Dio (Vice President for Research, Extension, and Training), Dr. Telesforo D. Escoto (Campus Director, Sorsogon City Campus), Dr. Susan S. Janer (Dean, Graduate School), Prof. Lynn C. Mendoza (Campus Director, Magallanes Campus), respectively.

Meanwhile, Dr. Erly M. Martir (Cluster I Coordinator, AACCUP Team) and Dr. Divinagracia M. De Guzman (Cluster II Coordinator, AACCUP Team) provided the ๐˜š๐˜ต๐˜ข๐˜ต๐˜ฆ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฏ๐˜ต ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜—๐˜ถ๐˜ณ๐˜ฑ๐˜ฐ๐˜ด๐˜ฆ & ๐˜๐˜ฏ๐˜ต๐˜ณ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฅ๐˜ถ๐˜ค๐˜ต๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜—๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ฆ๐˜ญ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜ˆ๐˜ˆ๐˜Š๐˜Š๐˜œ๐˜— ๐˜ˆ๐˜ค๐˜ค๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ๐˜ช๐˜ต๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ด afterward.

Further, the online accreditation is subdivided into two clusters, wherein Cluster I, headed by Dr. Martir, comprises doctorate programs from GS. On the other hand, Cluster II, led by Dr. De Guzman, includes a masterโ€™s degree from GS and the aforementioned undergraduate programs from Sorsogon City and Magallanes Campuses.

The five-day program accreditation involves browsing of relevant documents and/or evaluation, class observation (major/professional subjects) by program, interview of student leaders/students/year level, visit to extension sites and interview of at least 3 beneficiaries, and interview of at least 5 faculty members. (SorSU PIO)