SorSU Launches 3 research centers: Sorsogon Marine Biodiversity Research Center, Sorsogon Bamboo Research Center, and Sorsogon Policy Research Center

Upholding its vision to becoming a research university, Sorsogon State University (SorSU) conducted the launching and ceremonial blessings of its three (3) new research centers, namely: Sorsogon Marine Biodiversity Research Center; Sorsogon Bamboo Research Center (SBRC); and Sorsogon Policy Research Center (SorPReCe) last May 25, 2023, located at SorSU – Magallanes Campus, SorSU – Castilla Campus, and SorSU – Graduate School, respectively.

According to SorSU-Magallanes Campus, the establishment of its 𝙎𝙤𝙧𝙨𝙤𝙜𝙤𝙣 𝙈𝙖𝙧𝙞𝙣𝙚 𝘽𝙞𝙤𝙙𝙞𝙫𝙚𝙧𝙨𝙞𝙩𝙮 𝙍𝙚𝙨𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙘𝙝 𝘾𝙚𝙣𝙩𝙚𝙧 signifies the realization of the campus’ advocacy as a proactive institution toward addressing economic, social, and environmental concerns centered on the aquatic ecosystem.

Meanwhile, the 𝙎𝙤𝙧𝙨𝙤𝙜𝙤𝙣 𝘽𝙖𝙢𝙗𝙤𝙤 𝙍𝙚𝙨𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙘𝙝 𝘾𝙚𝙣𝙩𝙚𝙧 (𝙎𝘽𝙍𝘾) intends to become a premier hub for the innovation and commercialization of bamboo and its product in Sorsogon and beyond. Its creation also aims to promote bamboo as an interface to the University mandates, strengthening ties and linkages with the stakeholders, communities, relevant agencies, and other partners.

Jointly funded by the SorSU- Research, Extension and Training Office and SorSU – Graduate School, the 𝙎𝙤𝙧𝙨𝙤𝙜𝙤𝙣 𝙋𝙤𝙡𝙞𝙘𝙮 𝙍𝙚𝙨𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙘𝙝 𝘾𝙚𝙣𝙩𝙚𝙧 (𝙎𝙤𝙧𝙋𝙍𝙚𝘾𝙚) serves as the think tank of SorSU for research and policy development with a primary focus on education, social science, and policy research.

Headed by SUC President III, Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus, the launching ceremonies were also attended by SorSU top executives: Dr. Ryan V. Dio (VP for Research, Extension & Training); Dr. Jhonner D. Ricafort (VP for Academic Affairs); Prof. Andrew F. Detera (Campus Director, SorSU – Castilla Campus); Prof. Ma. Elena C. Dendam (Campus Director, SorSU – Bulan Campus); Prof. Lynn C. Mendoza (Campus Director, SorSU – Magallanes Campus); Dr. Telesforo D. Escoto (Campus Director, SorSU – Sorsogon City Campus); Dr. Susan S. Janer (Dean, Graduate School); Prof. Maria Crisanta M. Jarque (Director, Student Development Services); Dr. Christopher C. Jaramiel (Director, General Services and Maintenance); Prof. Ma. Claire M. Dicen (Director, NSTP); & Ms. Erlinda P. Enguerra (University Librarian), SorSU faculty & personnel, and other local & SorSU officials.

In relation, the establishment of the three aforementioned research centers is in accordance with the Sorsogon State University Board of Regents (Resolution) No. 19, s. 2023, among the other identified research and innovation centers (RIC) to be established. (SorSU PIO)