SorSU, spearheaded by SSC Alumni Association Inc., Celebrated In-Person Pagturupar after 2 years

To reunite with former classmates and reminisce fond memories, alumni of Sorsogon State University (formerly Sorsogon School of Arts and Trades; Sorsogon College of Arts and Trades; and Sorsogon State College) from different batches return home as they celebrate π‘·π’‚π’ˆπ’•π’–π’“π’–π’‘π’‚π’“ 2023 (General Alumni Homecoming) last April 08, 2023, at SorSU Covered Court, Sorsogon City Campus.

With the theme: β€œπ™π™šπ™£π™šπ™¬π™žπ™£π™œ π™π™žπ™šπ™¨, π™π™šπ™’π™šπ™’π™—π™šπ™§π™žπ™£π™œ π™‚π™§π™šπ™–π™© π™π™žπ™’π™šπ™¨, π™π™€π™§π™œπ™žπ™£π™œ π™‰π™šπ™¬ π˜Ύπ™€π™£π™£π™šπ™˜π™©π™žπ™€π™£π™¨,” a grand parade participated by batches from 1971 to 2022 commenced the alumni homecoming event, led by Batch 1988 as the main host of this year’s Pagturupar. Following the parade were the ribbon cutting and unveiling of the marker of SorSU Alumni Building or β€˜Balay Alumni’, consisting of an Alumni Office, a hostel for transients and visitors, and a meeting place for the alumni members.

SUC President III, Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus of Batch β€˜88 also gave a short welcome message during the opening program. Meanwhile, Dr. Jhonner D. Ricafort (President, SSC Alumni Association Inc.) and Dr. Telesforo D. Escoto (Treasurer, SSC Alumni Association Inc.) presented the President’s and Treasurer’s Reports for the past five years in service, respectively.

Moreover, an election for a new set of Alumni Officers (Term 2023-2028) was also held, where candidates were officially presented by the Comelec (Batch β€˜12), while the presidential candidates discussed their respective party’s platform. The tally of votes showed the reelection of the current Alumni Officers to their positions, with Dr. Ricafort as the incumbent Alumni President.

President: Dr. Jhonner D. Ricafort

Vice President for External Affairs: Ms. Agnes Paras-Marcial

Vice-President for Internal Affairs: Engr. Joy J. Labo

Secretary: Ms. Caroline Grace S. Hamor

Treasurer: Dr. Telesforo D. Escoto

Auditor: Ms. Ma. Flora Janer-Renovalles

PIO: Mr. Hoelzi M. Lopez

Business Manager: Mr. Henry D. Advincula

The proclamation and oath-taking of winning candidates took place during the evening program proper.

Judge Joeven Dellosa of Batch β€˜98, the Guest Speaker, graced the Pagturupar 2023 and provided an inspirational message to his fellow alumni. Following was the awarding of parlor games winners where several alumni batches enjoyed the fun activities prepared for them in the afternoon. Likewise, special awards were also given to the batches: Early Registrants Awardees; Batch with the Biggest Number of Attendees; and the Most Senior Attendees, and turnover of donations for Balay Alumni concluded the evening program proper, followed by the commencement of Beer Plaza, as live bands entertained the alumni attendees with enthusiastic and invigorating music. (SorSU PIO)