SorSU spearheads Inphasing Session of Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) Stars Rating Task Force

As part of the University’s steadfast pursuit of academic excellence and recognition on a global scale, Sorsogon State University (SorSU), through the Office of Quality Assurance (QA), conducted the Inphasing Session of Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) Stars Rating Task Force Meeting on May 10, 2024, at SorSU Old Boardroom, Sorsogon City Campus.

Engr. Dennis M. Mujar (Head, SorSU Global Quality Awards/University Ranking PQA) formally began the activity with the acknowledgment of members and the statement of purpose. Dr. Jhonner D. Ricafort (Vice President for Academic Affairs) provided the welcome remarks, while SUC President III, Dr. Geraldine F. De Jesus, delivered a brief inspirational message. SorSU President De Jesus emphasized, “This [SorSU’s intention for QS Stars Rating application] is one of the impossibles that will become possible.”

The meeting focused on the updates per committee chair on the status of the University QS Stars Rating under the following four category types and subcategories: 1) Core Criteria – Teaching, Employability, Internationalization, Academic Development by Dr. Maria Lourdes G. Barrozo (University Registrar & Chair), Prof. Maria Crisanta M. Jarque (OSDS Director) in lieu of Prof. Lelanie L. Berjuega, Dr. Vivien L. Chua (IRO Director & Chair), & Dr. Susan F. Astillero (Chair), respectively; (2) Learning Environment – Facilities by Mr. Nestor L. Lasala Jr. (via video presentation); (3) Advanced Criteria – Social Responsibility by Dr. Ana Cristina G. Fortes (Extension and Training Services Director & Chair) & Arts and Culture by Mr. Oliver F. Garbin (Head, Sports, Culture and Arts & Chair); (4) Special Criteria – Program Strength by Dr. Alfonso L. Garcia, Jr. (Dean, College of Teacher Education and Midwifery).

Meanwhile, the Panel of Evaluators of the session was composed of the following officials: Dr. Jhonner D. Ricafort (VPAA) – Chairman; Vice Chairs: Dr. Vivien L. Chua (Director, IRO), Dr. Ryan V. Dio (VPRET), & Dr. Jenet B. Fuentes (Director, QA); and Member: Engr. Dennis M. Mujar (Head, Global Quality Awards/University Ranking).

The activity is intended to assess the institution’s preparation and readiness as a precondition for application for Quacquarelli Symonds (QS), which is a widely recognized institutional performance firm for colleges/universities worldwide.

In attendance also during the activity were the following SorSU top management: Dr. Leny D. Berdin (Chief Administrative Officer-Finance Division); Dr. Telesforo D. Escoto (Campus Director, Sorsogon City Campus); Dr. Susan S. Janer (Dean, Graduate School); Arch. Luisita F. Gegajo (Director, Project Management Office); Ms. Myrna D. Leoncito (Director, Public Information Office); Deans: Dr. Maria Luisa P. Mirasol (CBM), Engr. Rufo D. Durian III (COEA), Dr. Alfonso L. Garcia, Jr. (CoTEdM); Dr. Fely A. Habla (Program Chair, BTVTED); Ms. Erlinda P. Enguerra (University Librarian); Dr. Medin J. Nicolas (Head, Health Services Unit); Ms. Marinel D. Soriano (Head, Scholarship & Financial Assistance Services Unit); Mr. Jaymark D. Samson (Head, Program Standard & Development); Ms. Mary Ann J. Jintalan (Guidance Counselor); Mr. Mikko S. Guardian (Guidance Counselor); Ms. Maria Cristina B. Ditan (QMS/ISO & Faculty); Mr. Daryll Tee (ICT/MIS); and other key officials/personnel. (SorSU PIO)